by David Leach | RMLC

DENVER – The Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference announced the addition of two new teams to its Division I ranks on Monday.

The University of Texas and the University of Oklahoma have accepted invitations to join the RMLC-I for the 2020 season.

The two programs push the conference back up to six teams, which will reinstate the automatic qualifying bid to the 2020 MCLA National Championships sponsored by New Balance.

“This will maintain that high level of competition the RMLC Division I is accustomed to,” said RMLC president John Robinette. “Adding two teams that can immediately compete, add excitement to our seasons, and even build some rivalries, is a great move for the RMLC.”

The Sooners and Longhorns come to the RMLC from the Lone Star Alliance, a conference of 11 Division I programs. Transferring conferences, they will now compete against Brigham Young, Colorado, Colorado State and Utah Valley for the Division I crown.

Texas posted a 9-4 record in the 2019 season, losing its Division I conference championship game to Louisiana State, while Oklahoma (6-8) made it to the conference playoffs but suffered a first round loss to Texas.

The Longhorns have qualified for the MCLA National Championships eight times during their stay in the LSA, most recently in 2014. The Sooners are eyeing their first invitation to nationals.

Moving to the RMLC gives Texas and Oklahoma week-to-week competition against former champions. Since 1997, the RMLC has had an MCLA-best 11 national championship teams. Colorado State has six titles, Brigham Young with four and Colorado with one.